Chiang Mai: City of Night Markets

I’m not sure what I was expecting when I arrived Chiang Mai, but unlike Bangkok, Chiang Mai did not meet my expectations. Overall, it was still a city, just smaller than Bangkok and closer to the mountains.

One thing that was not in short supply in Chiang Mai was Night Markets. Every night, just outside the old city wall, a night bazaar springs up from the pavement, but on Saturdays and Sundays the weekend night markets take over. Along a huge stretch of road sellers hawk all sorts of wares, as well as delicious Thai street food from Pad Thai to Mango sticky rice to roti to fruit smoothies to roasted corn to ice cream. Of course, I had to try everything. As the night wore on, the streets became more and more crowded with tourists in their elephant pants,  blind buskers, and local sellers.

The last picture features one of my favorite things about Thailand, Roti. It’s basically a crepe filled with banana and chocolate, topped with sweetened condensed milk which Thais like to put on everything.

Of course, I bought way too many things featuring elephants, but I wouldn’t be a proper tourist without doing that.

I highly enjoyed the energy in Chiang Mai’s night markets, and if you ever come to Chiang Mai, you must check them out. You never know what you might find.

Leave a Reply

