Ancient Chinese Gameplay

My Chinese teacher, Korinna, and her cousin, taught me and three of my friends to play the ancient Chinese game of Majiang (Mazhong) . In Chinese–which added a whole other level of complication to the game. We went to a Majiang tea house, which has automatic Majiang tables that automatically shuffle the tiles for you between games. Usually, Majiang is played for money, but we played for playing cards, which is a good thing because I lost rather terribly.

image

image

image

We had such a good time, and it was a cool experience to learn a game that is such a part of Chinese culture. Now I have more things to talk about with taxi drivers as I go from place to place.

Leave a Reply

