Chinese Thanksgiving – Year 2

Last year I managed to get invited to THREE turkey dinners, and this year I didn’t have any. But as my friend pointed out, Thanksgiving is about spending a meal with people you care about and sharing what you are thankful for, so that is exactly what we did. I still spent Thanksgiving in a unique way.

I technically have Thanksgiving day off as the foreign teacher, but I worked it anyway and will use the day off at another time when I really need it. Instead, I had a blast teaching the 2-3 year olds the Chicken dance, and leading the 4-6 year olds in making the famous hand turkey craft that most of us in the US grew up making.

One of the Chinese teachers snapped the only pictures I have of me working with my students.

image

image

image

After work, I met up with good friends for a Chinese meal at a great local restaurant. Our group consisted of five Americans, a South African, three Chinese, and a Philippino. We shared about Thanksgiving traditions with the non-Americans and went around the table sharing what we are thankful for. It was such a blessing to be surrounded by wonderful people on a holiday that it is difficult to be away from family.

image

image

L-R: Alan, Cindy, Tamsyn, Hannah, Me, Frank, Mark, Nicole, Liz.

image

When we finished dinner, five of us decided to spontaneously go do some karaoke, and ended up having a lot of fun singing and being silly together. It was one of the best nights I’ve had in a long time, and it just makes me continually thankful for all the people I have around me amidst the difficulties of being a single person in a foreign country. God is good and he provides.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Thanksgiving. Eat as much turkey as you can for me because I won’t be having any this year!

image

Abby, Hannah, and Frank rocking out at KTV

image

Leave a Reply

